U.S. Supreme CourtU.S. Supreme Court
Published Decisions        The National Trial Lawyers

Law Offices of
William C. Talman
Attorneys at Law
103 Suburban Road, Ste. 301
P.O. Box 506
Knoxville, Tennessee  37901-0506

wctpc.com, wctpc.org, trial-support.com & trial-support.us

Telephone:  865-633-9060
2016 Ten Best Attorneys for Customer Satisfaction               Courtroom

55-10-403. Fines for violations of § 55-10-401 -- Restitution.

(a) A person convicted for a violation of § 55-10-401, shall be fined as follows:

(1) For a first offense, the person shall be fined not less than three hundred fifty dollars ($350) nor more than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500);

(2) For a second offense, the person shall be fined not less than six hundred dollars ($600) nor more than three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500);

(3) For a third offense, the person shall be fined not less than one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000);

(4) For a fourth or subsequent offense, the person shall be fined not less than three thousand dollars ($3,000) nor more than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000);

(5) For any offense while accompanied by a child under eighteen (18) years of age, the person shall be fined one thousand dollars ($1,000) in addition to the fine for the DUI offense.

(b) Unless the judge, using the applicable criteria set out in § 40-14-202(b), determines that a person convicted of violating § 55-10-401 is indigent, the minimum applicable fine shall be mandatory and shall not be subject to reduction or suspension. All fines are to be paid on the date sentence is imposed unless the court makes an affirmative finding that the defendant lacks a present ability to pay. The court shall then order a date certain before which payment shall be made. Should the defendant fail to comply with the order of the court, the clerk shall notify the court of the failure for further proceedings.

(c) The minimum and maximum fines for driving under the influence of an intoxicant shall continue to be collected and distributed as they were prior to July 1, 2013.

(d) The payment of restitution to any person suffering physical injury or personal losses as the result of such offense, if such person is economically capable of making such restitution, shall be imposed as a condition of probation under § 55-10-410.


While we have made every effort to ensure the information presented on our website is accurate and up to date, it is provided as a courtesy and for informational purposes only.  Laws are frequently modified by the Legislature and/or court precedent, therefore you should refer to the current edition of the Tennessee Code Annotated (T.C.A.) for more information.  If any information contained herein is in disagreement with any statute contained in the T.C.A., then any such information should be disregarded as the T.C.A. is controlling and should be followed.

The information provided herein is not all inclusive and does not cover every situation as each situation or case is different and unique.  No information obtained on our site may be construed to constitute the giving of any legal advice or the formation of any attorney-client relationship.   Persons are encouraged and admonished to seek legal assistance and advice from a licensed attorney of their choosing or from the public defender if indigent.

Contact us by E-Mail

© Copyright 2001-2021 - William C. Talman & Trial-Support
(No copyright claimed as to TCA references or information)